Silver Medal Award

The AAF’s Silver Medal Award Program was established
in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made
outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been
active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence
and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, the
American Advertising Federation New Mexico bestows this
honor upon an outstanding member of the local advertising
community. The recipient is selected by a distinguished panel
of former Silver Medal winners.

Click here to nominate someone for a Silver Medal Award.  


David Hayduk

Dave started HK Advertising in 1982, and today the firm bills approximately $3.5 million in revenue. Since its inception in 1982, Dave has managed all aspects of the business while establishing himself as a specialist in development of brand strategies incorporating an integrated range of marketing and public relations activities. Dave leads account management and provides key insight on strategy and creative direction. He is the consummate team leader who organizes staff and client interaction to everyone’s advantage.

In January of this year, Dave joined forces with Joanie Griffin and Dezaree Vega-Garcia to create a new entity – Sunny505.

2018 David Hayduk

Past Silver Medal Winners

2017 Sam Maclay

2016 Pat Wallwork

2015 Del Esparza

2014 Steve Mckee

2013 Mary Lynn Roper

2012 Ron Salsberg

2011 Jim McKenna

2010 Joan Griffin 

2009 Joanne Fine

2008 Steve Wedeen

2007 Pam Schneider

2006 Sally Adams

2005 Dick Ruddy

2004 Milt McConnell

2003 David R. Michelsohn

2002 Sterling Grant Jr.

2001 Roger Hunter

2000 Michael L Bowlin

1999 Jim Cooney

1998 Rick Huff

1997 David O. Roberts

1996 Connie Hargrove

1995 John Wagner

1994 Mitch Kennison

1993 Debbie Johnson

1992 Peter Strascina

1991 Julie Golden

1990 Jerry Danziger

1989 Dick Pfaff

1988 Ron Randel

1987 Rick Johnson

1986 Patt Howard

1985 Dick Kent

1984 Flori Summers-Beauschesne

1983 Robert McElheney

1982 Dave Herman

1981 Jim Aubele

1980 Jack Lee

1979 Bruce Gerry

1978 John Airy

1977 Joan Young

1976 Lee Galles

1975 Gene McGehee

1974 Art Pinson

1973 Mickey Toppino

1972 Michael Madanick

1971 Chuck Rothschild

1970 Tom Tokars

1968 Dorothy Smith

1967 Max Sklower

1966 Mac Bolles

1965 Brad Prince

President's Award

The President’s Award was created in 1997 to recognize companies and
individuals that have made an outstanding contribution to the advertising
profession in New Mexico. The award is different from the Silver Medal
Award in that it may recognize a company; a person who has contributed a
single, yet significant achievement; or a younger individual who has not yet
established a lifetime of accomplishment.



Carlos Contreras

Mr. Carlos Contreras is a marketing strategist, an artist, and Kellogg Community Leadership Network Fellow. He has served as a Community Engagement Strategist at a local non-profit, and also worked at the Hispano Chamber of Commerce where he conceptualized and implemented community and entertainment-based events. Mr. Contreras was instrumental in the growth of Tractor Brewing Company, where he worked as an Events and Logistics Coordinator. He is currently on hiatus from serving as an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Chicano/a Studies at the University of New Mexico, where he is also a Masters student in the American Studies Department. Mr. Contreras is a published author and National Champion poet, working to create spaces that don't exist for artists in Albuquerque. He is a proud son to a wonderful mother and father born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and a proud father to a three year old daughter named Frankie. Contreras prides himself on his civic pride – working daily to make this place he calls home better for each one of us, in whatever way possible.

2018 Carlos Contreras


Past Presidents Award Winners

2017 Stacy Sacco

2016 - Albuquerque The Magazine

2015 - Southwest University of Visual Arts

2014 —  Pam Schneider

2013 — Sterling Grant III

2012 – Mike Burgess, Bill Anderson and Mary Lynn Roper

2011 – Michael Barley

2010 – Rick Johnson

2009 – New Mexico Magazine

2008 – Albuquerque Studios

2007 – Albuquerque Tribune

2006 – KKOB-AM

2005 – UNM C&J Department / Art Center Design College 

2004 – Comcast Spotlight

2003 – Rick Johnson & Company

2002 – NM Auto Dealers

2001 – Cottonwood Printing

2000 – Donrey Outdoor

1999 – David Cooper, Western Warehouse

1998 – The Hebenstreit Family

1997 – Robert Stevens, Bandelier